Hi everyone. I hope you are all well and that your preparations for Christmas are going well. I still have lots to do but I am sure it will work out in the end. This week I will be discussing Tim Peake in space, my social media blackout due to Star Wars, Christmas Party, Secret Santa and Christmas Jumper Day. So let’s get started.

This week saw British astronaut Tim Peake blast off into space and arrive at the International Space Station. This fascinates me not only because it is a famous Tim (in fact two Tim’s are on the Expedition 46. The other is Timothy Kopra) but also anything to do with space really interests me. Odd I know because I was rubbish at science but the idea of going into space and what is out there blows my mind. Tim Peake isn’t the first British astronaut that was Dr Helen Sharman back in she visited the Mir Space Station. I was fortunate enough to listen to a talk by her on a school trip (aged 10/11) and the talk still sticks with me today. Since then I have read books about space and visited Kennedy Space Centre. I hope Tim Peake’s mission goes well and I will follow his progress in the news and Twitter.

Since Wednesday I have had a self-imposed Social Media Blackout due to the new Star Wars film. I have just seen it (Monday) so I can now go back to Social Media but I didn’t want to risk spoilers on social media. It was an odd experience not being on social media for 5 days as I did miss checking tweets and updates but it has probably done me some good. It proved to me that I do check it quite a lot and that maybe it would be good to have some days off from it from time to time. Anyway I am back on Twitter and Facebook so if I didn’t respond to any updates in the last five days that was why.

On Wednesday night it was my works Christmas Party. I wasn’t sure if I could go because of transport issues but a very good colleague/friend gave me a lift and I had a very good night. It was just what I needed if I’m honest. A night off to relax and let things go. I had a good old dance at the disco and the DJ wasn’t too bad (although he didn’t know who Ellie Goulding is). It didn’t take long to get me up dancing (it was Footloose and the second song of the night). I was pleased I went and a big thank you to my colleague who organised it all.

The Christmas party was just the start of the Christmas festivities at work. On Friday it was Secret Santa and Christmas Jumper Day. My Secret Santa obviously knew me very well as I got Star Wars socks and a Star Wars LEGO key ring. It is always a nerve-wracking experiesecret santa presentnce taking part in Secret Santa as I dread getting something embarrassing. I had obviously been a good boy this year. It was the same day as Christmas Jumper Day at work but this year I opted for a Christmas t-shirt instead as my experience of previous years has been that a Christmas Jumper is just too warm for work.It is always good to see the different types of Christmas jumpers people have and that so many people take part.

Well that is it for this blog post. Sorry for the lateness but Christmas stuff has got in the way. I just want to take this opportunity to wish all my readers a very Merry Christmas and that Santa is good to you all. Right I’m off now to finalise Christmas presents, wrapping and learning lines for new plays(more about that in a future blog post).

Top Programme of the Week – Strictly Come Dancing

Top Song of the Week – Walk The Moon – Shut Up and Dance

Book I Am Currently Reading – A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

