Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. Today is not my favourite day of the year but I am trying this year to be less cynical about the day (its proving tough though). Anyway let’s get started with this blog post.

The week started off quite busy. Sunday, Monday and Tuesday night were all rehearsals which meant very long days particulate Monday and Tuesday. It will be worth it though but it does mean I am quite tired early on in the week and not getting to eat proper meals. I need to lose weight anyway. Having a busy start to the week meant that I felt I couldn’t stop to get my breath and it started to get me down. As the week went on though it got better and I made sure Wednesday night was some major me time which included a bit of Netflix and some reading.

Monday was the start of the Chinese New Year. This year it is the Year of the Monkey. This is my Chinese Year and I learn this week that it is regarded as the most unlucky year in the Chinese calendar. Just typical that is. I was hoping that it would mean that  it would be a good year for me this year. I didn’t do anything to celebrate though. I’m not a fan of Chinese food but did try to find some fortune cookies for work. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any so left it at that.

On Tuesday it was Shrove Tuesday. A time when we all eat pancakes while asking the question why do we not eat pancakes more often. It also signals the start of Lent and we try to think of things to give up for this period. This year I am not giving anything up for Lent. The two things that would be the biggest sacrifice would be coffee and social media but I am involved in my works social media so I couldn’t give that up and for the sake of everyone around me I need coffee on a morning. So for this year I am not giving anything up. I’ll try harder next year.

This week I have been thinking a lot about holidays as it has been a long time since I had a proper holiday but at the same time moving out needs to be my priority. I think what I need to do to is just to go to the travel agent and speak to them and discuss some options. Maybe I could book something for early next year which would then give me time to save for it and still be able to move out. What I do know is that I can’t go this year without either a holiday or moving out.

In Durham this week Pret A Manger opened. Now I am not a fan of their coffee but they do good sandwiches and I like their ginger shot. So I called in as I needed to buy some lunch and thought I would treat myself to both. I was surprised when I went in to be served my the barista who used to work in Starbucks and there was a sort of bromance going on with us. He left last April and was moving away but he was now back in Durham but in a different store. I didn’t feel as if it was right to ask why he was back in Durham and the whole experience felt a bit awkward. It was like meeting your ex for the first time since a break up and you all sense the awkwardness and the elephant in the room but try to forget it and carry on as normal. The store seemed nice and I will probably call in now and again for food but maybe not coffee.

So today is Valentine’s Day but it appears to now be the entire weekend with a whole week of build up. I have tried this year to not let it bother me or drag me down. It is easier to ignore on a weekend as I’m not at work so don’t have to put up with colleagues receiving overpriced bouquets and having to pretend how lovely they are when I am really thinking why didn’t they just give the flowers when they saw them that night. I have tried to avoid spending too much time on social media today because I know all the pictures of flowers etc will be filling my news feed and I don’t have a problem with that as I can just not look at them if I don’t go on much. Town today was quieter though as I guess all couples were doing lovey dovey things so there was some positive outcome. I did nearly laugh though when the barista in Starbucks asked “what’s eyeing you up in the pastry counter?” This is the closest I was going to get flirting today although I was hoping for more than blueberry muffin. Anyway the day is nearly over which means I have almost survived another one. Yes secretly I had hoped for a surprise message or tweet but knew it was unlikely. One day I will have a proper Valentine’s experience  I just haven’t me the guy who will hug me so tight that all my broken pieces will stick back together.

On that note I will leave it. Thanks again for taking the time to read and I will be back again next week with my latest blog post.

Top Programme of the Week – Birds of a Feather

Top Song of the Week – Little Mix – Secret Love Song

Book I Am Currently Reading – Everything You Need You Have by Gerad Kite

