Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post (sorry it’s late). This week I will be discussing how I’m feeling, BBC’s In The Mind series, Harper Lee, EU Referendum, Fire & Ice Festival and thinking of a spring clean. So let’s get started.

I have been feeling lately that things have been slipping away from me for a bit. This is frustrating because I thought I was moving on from this stage in my life but I have falling into the trap of routine again. I need to stop and plan both personal and non personal things in my life to get them back on track. What has been good is catching up with some friends in the last week sometimes just by chance. I like it when things like that happen. I like to think it is the universe trying to make me see that I need that person/advice/event in my life at that moment for a reason. Sometimes I know why but other times I’m not sure but know it must be important. Sometimes it is because they are the ones that need the advice and support. It’s like a computer game you keep going over the same level looking for that special feature and after the tenth time you finally find it in the most obvious place.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/14/Depressed_%284649749639%29.jpg

This last week it has been ‘In The Mind’ week on BBC. I am really pleased that TV is highlighting mental health issues more and making it ok to be able to talk about things and say it is ok to say how you feel especially if you are a man. I know from my own experience when the wave of depression/anxiety hits it is a lonely place. Talking about it is a good way to relieve this pressure and allows the fog to lift for a time. Just reaching out in some way often just a small gesture can make a massive difference. Who ever is reading this I want you to stop and think about those in your life and ask yourself is there something I can do to help any of them. If you are that person needing the support allow others in to help. Say yes to the coffee or cinema or lunch it will help. The chances are the support will be from someone you don’t expect so it maybe harder to let them into your life. The more people you let in the stronger you will become. Just by talking about things shows how strong you are it just might take you some time to see this.

This week Harper Lee died. I wrote on this blog post last year about her and how important her novel ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ is to me and how I enjoyed ‘Go Set A Watchman’. She was a truly talented writer and one that deserves her place in literary history. If you have never read ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ go and start reading it right now.

It was announced this week that the UK would have a referendum on membership of the EU in June. It is going to be a long four months of news and campaigning and wish it was sooner. My own opinion is that we are better in the EU than out so I will vote to stay in. Not because I fear change but because we are not Great Britain in the sense that we rule the world anymore. We need others to work with to achieve things and this is a good thing but it does mean we have to compromise. for this reason we are better together. Leaving could also trigger independence referendum’s in Wales and Scotland which means we would possibly become even more isolated. So I say let’s stick together and vote to stay in the EU.

On Friday night on my way home from work I discovered it was the Fire and Ice festival in Durham. I didn’t have much time to look around but I did manage to see some ice sculptures and take some pictures. Durham Fire & IceThis is one of the things I love about Durham is that out of no where things like this happen. I hope they do it again next year.

Finally after thinking about things in the present and in the future I have decided I need a bit of a spring clean both at home and in my head. So it is time to get that feather duster out and wipe those cobwebs away and start afresh.

Top Programme of the Week – Dickensian

Top Song of the Week – Elton John – I’m Still Standing

Book I Am Currently Reading – Proud by Gareth Thomas

