Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing Batman V Superman, Crisp World Cup, InspirApril, A night away,  and Guys and Dolls. So let’s get started.

Although it was short week this week because of the Bank Holiday it has felt long. On Monday I went to the cinema to see Batman V Superman. Now I’m not a DC fan I’m more MARVEL but I did enjoy Man of Steel a  few years ago so thought I would give this ago. Before going I had heard the bad reviews. Film critics have really gone to town on pulling this film to pieces. So I went in with an open mind and you know what I actually enjoyed it. Yes it is a bit long and the script isn’t the best and there are plot holes but lets stop and remember that it is a superhero film and they don’t need to be complex or Oscar worthy they just have to entertain. Ben Affleck (who generally I am not a fan of) was good as Batman and I think given more time he could develop the role. Henry Cavill had a whole film before to get into character which is why he does well in this film. Amy Adams is also good in this film and I think she is often overlooked. The star though is Wonder Woman played by Gal Gadot. It is great to see Wonder Woman back as she has been overlooked in recent years and only kept alive in people’s minds because of the graphic novels and the DVD box set of the TV series from the 1970’s (when things were much more camper). This version of Wonder Woman is certainly not as camp or as ‘fabulous’ but is a strong female lead even though she is not mentioned in the film’s title. I’m not sure how young audience viewers would know who she was and the significance as it doesn’t get explained why she is in the film. Still we have her own film to come next year. So overall I quite enjoyed the film. If you haven’t seen it yet then go see it but go with an open mind and you might be pleasantly surprised.

On the subject of superheroes I think it is long overdue for a Robin movie. He always gets overlooked and he is a superhero in his own right. Sidekicks should get more limelight.

Over the Bank Holiday last week Richard Osman on Twitter held the Crisp World Cup. It was a bit of fun but was also raising money for charity. The winner was Monster Munch Pickled Onion Flavour, in second place were Wotsits and third place went to Quavers. I was late to the voting, joining in at the Quarter Final stage but it was a bit of fun and totally agree with the winner. Just thinking about them makes me want to eat a packet. What are your favourite crisps?

It is now April and this brings many things, light nights, Game of Thrones, Shakespeare’s Anniversary and the InspirApril challenge. Last year I took part in the InspirApril challenge on Instagram. This is where there is a different theme each day and you take a photo for Instagram connected with that theme. It was good last year although at times it was difficult. The themes for this year are in the picture below.

#InspirApril
#InspirApril

You can join at anytime and just need to use the #InspirApril in the post so that others taking part can see it. I am bit worried about Day 20 as I have no idea what I could do for  ‘naked’ that doesn’t involve an unpleasant picture of me. If you are on Instagram then why not take part and also follow my progress on the challenge at TimBuckle81 .

On Saturday I went to Newcastle for the day and stayed overnight. It was quite a self-indulgent thing to do but I needed some time to myself. A lot of things have been getting to me and I just felt a bit suffocated so a night away and a visit to the theatre was called for. The hotel was nice and even had a pool, jacuzzi and steam room which I used. The last time I did this was back in 2008 when me and some friends from work went to Centreparcs. This time it was just me but it was nice to relax a little. I need to get round to booking a proper break some where but life is getting in the way at the moment and I feel as if I can only snatch moments like this.

The show I went to see at the theatre was Guys and Dolls. I know I am falling into the gay stereotype for my love of musicals but a good show can certainly cheer you up and I haven’t stopped singing ‘Sit Down Your Rocking the Boat’ and ‘Luck Be A Lady Tonight’. Richard Fleeshman was brilliant as Sky especially when performing ‘Luck Be A Lady Tonight’. He had my attention throughout. Louise Dearman was fantastic as Miss Adelaide and reminded me of a young Imelda Staunton. It certainly cheered me up and I left the theatre feeling a bit happier than I did earlier.

I went back to the hotel after the show as I felt out-of-place going out on the scene. I’m not sure if it was because I was feeling my age or just feeling self-conscious but I thought it best to head back to hotel. This is possibly a wasted opportunity as I need to go out more but on this occasion it didn’t feel right. The hotel though had a Gin Bar and this has some how become a popular drink with me at the moment it was a shame not to try it. It was also nice and quiet which is unusual for a central bar in Newcastle on a Saturday night.

I didn’t sleep great so I didn’t feel as invigorated as I hoped to after my stay.  Before leaving Newcastle I had a quick visit to the Centre for Life to see the Robots exhibition that was on.

IMG_6711

I was a bit disappointed actually as it was small and a lot of the displays were not even robots (e.g. Stormtrooper) . Still it was alright but nothing exciting. I am still trying to get the stamp off my hand though that they gave me when I paid to go in.

Well that is it for this week. Sorry the post is late again but it’s just how things are at the moment with me. I will try harder.

Top Programme of the Week – Line of Duty

Top Song of the Week – The Pop Kids by Pet Shop Boys

Book I Am Currently Reading – Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig

 

