Welcome to the second monthly book blog post. A little bit later than I planned but it is still August so I am on time. Here are the books that I have read, currently reading and plan to read soon in the not too distant future.

Books I have read in July

The Pier Falls by Mark Haddon – (Jonathan Cape, 2016)

26046346

I’m not a big fan usually of short stories. I think it is because I prefer to spend a lot of time getting to know characters and with short stories you don’t get much opportunity to do that.
The Pier Falls is a collection of 8 dark short stories. I suppose there are glimpses light in them but generally they are very dark and sad tales.
I liked that they were all very different in location but the theme of things ending are present in all of them.
My two favourite stories were the title story ‘The Pier Falls’ and ‘Wodwo’. My least favourite was ‘The Woodpecker and the Wolf’.
They are certainly worth giving a go and the book also featured drawings done by Haddon himself which was special touch.
When I started the book I had hoped they would be quite uplifting tales but they were far from it.

Format Read was Hardback

Rating 3/5 (Good)

Current Read

The Reader on the 6:27 -Jean-Paul Didierlaurent (Pan, 2015)

The reader on the 6:27

A story about books, a train commute and the enjoyment of reading. This book is a charming summer read about a man who works for a book pulping company and saves reads out loud from pages he has saved. Hope to have review in next months blog post.

Format is Paperback

Recent Acquisitions

I was going to be good this month and not buy many but then a new Harry Potter book was released and the Long list for the Booker Prize were also announced so it has led to a book buying spree. Oops!

His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet – (Contraband, 2015)

25694617

One of three Booker Long list titles that I have purchased. Unusual for a crime novel to make the list for the Booker Prize. It about the triple murder  in a remote northwestern crofting community in 1869 that leads to the arrest of a young man by the name of Roderick Macrae. It seems to be similar to ‘ The Suspicions of Mr Whicher’. We will have to see when I start it.

Format is Kindle E-Book

The Island by Victoria Hislop  – (Headline Review, 2006)

922991

OK not my usual type of book but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I got it because it was free on Amazon as part of a promotion so thought I would give it a try. It is about someone who is searching for answers about her family history and this takes her on a journey to learn more.

Format Kindle E-Book

The North Water by Ian McGuire – (Scribner, 2016)

26851955-1

The second of my Booker Long List purchases. At first glance it is a beautiful illustration on the cover which is always a good start.  It is about a 19th-century whaling ship that sets sail for the Arctic with someone on boars who has dark history

Format Kindle E-Book

The Many by Wyl Menmuir – (Salt Publishing, 2016)

28580659

My third and final Booker Prize Long list title that I purchased this month. It is the debut novel by Wyl Menmuir and has certainly caused a bit of a buzz with its inclusion in the Booker Long list. The book is about a guy called Timothy Bucchanan who moves to an isolated village on the coast. But the experience is an increasingly unsettling one for him. At only 160 pages it is quite short so should be a quick read for me.

Format Kindle E-Book

The Shellseekers by Rosamund Pilcher – (Hodder & Stoughton, 2009)

41KoMSEK3FL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

I have wanted to read this since watching the TV series many many years ago so thrilled to find a cheap copy on Kindle. The novel tells the story of Penelope Keeling, the daughter of  an artist father and his much-younger French wife, examining her past and her relationships with her adult children. I now also want to rematch the TV series again.

Format Kindle E-Book

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne -(Little Brown, 2016)

29069989

This is the script for the play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child parts 1 and 2 which is currently on in London’s West End. It is being seen as the Eighth Harry Potter Book and I suppose it is but only the story. The script is written by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne but the story is still by J.K.Rowling. It is set 19 years after ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’. A review will feature in next months blog post.

Format Hardback.

That is it for this months book blog but it will be back again in September. Please let me know in the comments what you are have read recently, currently reading a recent book purchases I would love to know.

