Sunday 18th September : Number of cups of coffee = 2.

Welcome to this weeks blog post. I’ve been to see the new Bridget Jones movie this week which is why I have made this feeble attempt at starting my blog in the style of Bridget Jones. Well it was worth a try, This week I will be discussing 11yrs being a librarian, Great British Bake Off, Roald Dahl, Bridge Jones’s Baby and iPhone 7. So let’s get started.

Monday 12th September marked a milestone in my career and life. I have worked as a librarian with my current employer for 11 years. It is by far the longest I have worked anywhere and realised 31% of my life I have spent there.  I’m sure other people who have worked at places for a long time will relate to when you tell people how long you have been there you get the same responses “Wow that’s a long time” (stating the obvious), “You must really like your job?” (Yeah it’s good), “You get less for murder” (not sure you do actually but see what you are getting at I think), “It must be a good place to work?” (As mentioned it is good) “Imagine how long you would be here if you’re stay till your retired” (I stop and think and check on google and I might be 68 when I retire which would mean being there 44 years… suddenly feel a bit funny).  I suppose what I’m trying to say is I have had a great 11 years and hopefully more to come. I do enjoy it and work with some of the best people I’ve ever worked with but no one knows what will happen do they. I look back at the past 11 years and the journey (sorry I sound like an X Factor wannabe) I’ve been on and I wouldn’t have expected half the things that have happened. I suppose what is poignant is that after 11 years of working in a library I have realised it is what I want to do (that librarian from Darlington Town Library back in 1999 was right after all I was going to work in libraries not the media) and this month where I celebrate 11 years as a librarian I also have started my journey on Chartership. It seems very fitting don’t you think.

This week it was announced that the current series of Great British Bake Off would be the last on the BBC and the show was moving to Channel 4 because channel 4 were going to pay £25 million a year for it and the BBC just couldn’t afford that .  Now I am aware there are major events happening around the world but this seemed to rock social media big time. The following day it was announced that the presenters Mel and Sue were quitting as they were sad that the production company had made this decision just for money. Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood are still to decided but I hope they leave as well because the show needs all 4 of them to work and if  half of them are missing it won’t be the same. The charity specials have already proven that in the past. Watching this weeks episode showed why Mel and Sue are crucial to the show and without them and moving to a different channel means it will become a different show. Some people say what’s the fuss it will still be on TV and yeah it will but some shows only work on certain channels. I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here works on ITV but wouldn’t work on BBC. Bake Off will suffer on Channel 4 because of adverts as well. I don’t want to see it sponsored by ‘Dr Oetker’ or ‘Kenwood food processors’. I want more soggy bottoms, more well roasted nuts, creamy horns, some good wrist action and nice baps. So Mary and Paul please stick with the BBC.

The bigger issue though with Bake Off is how the BBC is funded and run and it is now becoming very clear that the BBC is being watered down by the Government and Sky (they own the production company  that Bake Off is made by). The BBC is going to become a reduced version of itself because of money. The government doesn’t like the BBC despite what they say in public. We take it for granted but in these hard times we shouldn’t take anything for granted instead we should show support for it.

Ok onto nicer topics now. This week it was the 100th anniversary of Roald Dahl’s birth and there has been  lot of celebrations happening around the country. I grew up on Roald Dahl books and have so many happy memories of reading them. My favourite Roald Dahl book is ‘The Witches’ and I remember my Mam buying me it for holiday reading when we went to visit relatives. I remember thinking the book was massive but now looking at it on my bookshelf I realise it’s not that big after all. The first Roald Dahl book I remember was ‘Fantastic Mr Fox’ and it was read to us by my teacher Mrs McKye (I think thats the right spelling it was a long time ago after all). The edition she read from was blue and the illustrations were not by Quentin Blake as they are now. I really want to get a copy of this edition (see ever the librarian). So many happy reading memories and I am currently reading a book I never actually read as a child which was Matilda. I hope to rediscover some more Roald Dahl in the coming weeks and maybe even try his short stories for adults. What is your favourite Roald Dahl book? Tell me in the comments below.

This week I went to the cinema to see ‘Bridget Jones’s Baby’. It is the third Bridget Jones movie. The screen was sold out ands t time I was in a room with that many women was the Michael Buble concert. I enjoyed the film and would give it 3.5/5. I went to see it on my own as I thought if there was ever a film to go to see on my own in my 30’s it was Bridget Jones. I wasn’t keen on the books but I do like the films and I think it is because we can all relate to her in some way. We all hope our lives will be exciting and fulfilled by a certain age but reality is that we are never satisfied and life doesn’t go the way we expect it will. Bridget Jones is more than just big pants it is about reassuring us that sometimes we mess up and sometimes we get it right but in the end it doesn’t matter it’s the people in our lives that matter and what we do with our lives.

Right that is it for this week. I was going to talk about iPhone7 but I’m still waiting for it to arrive so expect more on this next week.

Top Programme of the Week – Cold Feet

Top Song of the Week – Ellie Goulding – Still Falling For You

Books I Am Currently Reading – Matilda by Roald Dahl 

