Hi and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing Christmas planning, Christmas movies, New Year and PPRG Conference. So a lot to discuss so let’s get started.

I’m sure I am not the only person who has recently ben asked “are you ready for Christmas?”. By this they mean have you done your Christmas shopping. It is almost like a competition for smugness on who can say they have finished their Christmas shopping some even go further and gleefully boast they have wrapped them as well. Well I am pleased for them and their already bought (most likely in January sale) Christmas Card lifestyle. My reality is no I am not ready for Christmas and just thinking about it scares me and depresses me a little too. I am sure it will all come together most probably in a frantic shopping event early December but until then I will have some mild panic.

This week me and some colleagues were discussing our favourite Christmas movies and I was reminded that one of my favourite Christmas movies is now ruined because Donald Trump is in it. Yes Home Alone 2: Lost in New York is one of my favourite Christmas movies but it will be awkward to watch now. He is only in 1 scene so I suppose I can still watch it but it does mean it drops down a bit for me. My other favourite Christmas films are ‘Bridget Jones’, Love Actually’, ‘A Muppets Christmas Carol’, ‘Die Hard’, ‘It’s A Wonderful Life’, and ‘The Snowman’. What are your favourite Christmas movies?

As well as the panic that I haven’t organised anything for Christmas yet I am also thinking ahead to New Year. Reality is I will be at home again this year probably watching the film ‘New Years Eve’ again wishing Zac Efron was helping me complete my bucket list in one night. Maybe I will do something last-minute I don’t know. After events of this year I want to make sure the year is over with.

Finally on Friday me and some colleagues attended the PPRG Marketing Conference and Awards where we were receiving an award for a project from last year. It was a great day. Not only because of some great speakers but the response we got from other library professionals for the work that we had done. Watching the presentation by my colleague and seeing the amazing reaction from people at the event on Twitter and in person really made feel proud to have been involved in it. It was a very special day. Well done to everyone involved (you all know who you are).

Sorry this blog is late but I didn’t get much chance over the weekend to finish it. I will talk about this in the next weekly blog. Until then though it is bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Class

Top Song of the Week – Emeli Sande – Breathing Underwater

Books I Am Currently Reading – Calling Major Tom by David M Barnett

