Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing A Tale of Two Cities, Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, Black Friday, Christmas Preparations and why I am focussing on 2017 and not the rest of 2016. So let’s get started.

Last Sunday evening I went to see ‘A Tale of Two Cities’. Now as my local theatre is currently being refurbished the show was on at the leisure centre in the central hall. This was quite fitting as it was originally the Assembly Room and Charles Dickens himself appeared there.  The show was produced by a professional company but the cast was made up of local actors.  Having read the book I was intrigued n how it would be done on the stage as it such a complex story and would pose many challenges. The team behind the production certainly made it work and I loved how close the audience were to the story. Watching it I felt the story was also quite fitting for now and also who doesn’t like a bit of Dickens at this time of year. Well done to all involved in the show.

As well as fitting income local theatre this week. I went to the cinema to see ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them’. This is a return to the world of Harry Potter but many years before Harry. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the film and thought it was to be a one-off film where some magic creatures escape in New York and Newt Scamander has to find them. This wasn’t the story. Yes he did have to find them but there was a darker and more serious storyline going on and apparently will continue for another 4 films (5 in total). I really liked it and was pleased to revisit the magical world and explore some new characters. It is certainly well worth watching.

Unless you have been a sleep all week or on another planet you will have noticed that it was Black Friday this week. This the day after Thanksgiving in American and is regarded as the beginning of the Christmas Shopping period. Now that is fine for America but for some reason we have it in the UK now. It has been round for a few years but looks as if it is here to stay. The thing is it isn’t only the one day. It seems this year it is lasting for a week. I am sure I wasn’t the only person to be bombarded with Black Friday related e-mails. Some tried to be clever and different such LateRooms who thought Black Friday sounded to glum so-called it Purple Friday. Hopefully it is over with for another year.

Over recent weeks I have talked about my lack of Christmas planning and how others and the media almost shame you if you haven’t started yet. This week I have made a little progress as I now have all my Christmas cards bought (I just have to find time to write them). I also booked my parents online food shop for Christmas. I was awake already at midnight on Saturday morning so thought I would do it. It turns out lots of others did the same and I spent 40 minutes watching the site try to work. It finally did and a slot is now booked. I then went to sleep wondering what have I become where I am awake at midnight get a shopping slot.

My lack of planning for Christmas maybe linked to something else. In fact it isn’t just Christmas that I am not planning for at the moment it is the rest of 2016. I seem to be giving up on the remaining weeks of 2016 and focussing on 2017 and what I want to do. Is this wrong? Yes amazing things could still happen in 2016 and if they do great but I need to think further ahead and 2017. This includes what I want to achieve and what commitments I will have next year. I need to make some changes and that planning is happening now so that 2017 is a better year for me. I’ll talk more about this in my end of year blog posts I should have a clearer idea of what I will do by then.

Top Programme of the Week – Strictly Come Dancing

Top Song of the Week – Little Mix – Shout Out To My Ex

Books I Am Currently Reading – Calling Major Tom by David M Barnett

