You are probably reading this still full of Christmas dinner, feeling sleepy, listening to George Michael and looking forward to seeing the back of 2016 (I know I certainly am). So this week I will be discussing Christmas as in some way or another that is what has been happening or on my mind this week.

I can’t believe the first week of my Christmas break is already over but I am still off until January 3rd so still lots of time to continue my relaxing and I seem to have managed it so far. Ys I have had lots of things to get ready such as presents and things but I have relaxed as well. It is probably the best Christmas present that I could give myself and next year I need to do this all year round. More on my resolutions and plans for 2017 in a blog post that won’t be too far away.

Before I talk about my Christmas this year I do want to talk a bit about George Michael. I was brought up in the 80’s so Wham were part of my childhood. I didn’t know then anything about being gay but George Michael made society talk about it. He received much criticism for being so open about it but by being so open he broke down barriers and told those trying to accept who they were that it was OK. His music as a solo artist continued to speak to me even though I wasn’t sure early on why I felt I needed to listen to him. He was also very open about his depression which is not easy to do. I don’t know whether he realised how much progress he brought the LGBT community but he did make it more acceptable tot talk about it. His death is very sad and my thoughts are with his friends and family at this time.

So Christmas. Well it’s all over for another year (I have already seen displays in shops for Easter and Valentines Day). A week ago I panicking that I wasn’t ready but I got myself sorted and did all my wrapping on Thursday evening so this meant I had plenty of time to relax and look forward to the day.

Christmas morning was lovely although it isn’t the same now the magic of Santa has faded. It is still nice to see my parents enjoy their presents. It is what I look forward to. I loved my presents too. I seemed to get a lot of books and alcohol this year which is nice. I also got a Chewbacca Onesie. Now I know I have dismissed onesies in the past but I have seen the error of my ways and wearing my onesie makes me very happy.  We then went to my Uncles for Christmas lunch (not in my onesie though). It is always a lovely day and getting the chance to spend time with family some of whom I only see once a year is a special time. What really struck me was how far things have moved on in a year. Last Christmas my Dad was only a few months out of hospital after his operation and eating was tough. This year he was able to enjoy it more and that made a big difference and really made the day for me and was probably at the risk of sounding cheesy the best present I could have.  Oh another present that I got was a selfie stick. Once again a few years ago I dismissed them but have recently thought about getting one. Now I have one and I look forward to using it and hopefully it will improve my selfies (I always look better further away).

Right that is it for this weeks weekly blog post and I think it is the last of the weekly blogs of 2016. I will of course be blogging before then as I have the Book blog for December to do and also my Year in Lists and Resolutions blog posts to do so there will hopefully be lots of blog posts to read in the next few days.

I currently have no plans for New Year (one year I will get myself sorted and do something special) but I am looking forward to seeing the back of 2016. I hope you have a good New Years Eve and incase I don’t speak to anyone before then Happy New Year.

Top Programme of the Week – The Graham Norton Show

Top Song of the Week – Milky Chance – Stolen Dance

Books I Am Currently Reading – The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S.Lewis

