Welcome to the last book blog post of 2016. My list of my top 5 reads will be included in my Year in Lists blog post in the new year. 2016 has been an interesting year for reading for me. I have read more non fiction than I usually do and read a few more books than last year. I have read a few books by the same author this year such as Matt Haig, Roald Dahl and Shakespeare. I tend not to do this but this year for various reasons I have done this. I hope 2017 is a good year for reading for me.

BOOKS I HAVE READ IN NOVEMBER

Calling Major Tom by David M Barnett (Trapeze, 2017)

51zblh1gzkl-_sx320_bo1204203200_

I received an advanced copy of this book. This is a story about a guy who wants to escape the world but though an unlikely phone encounter he learns something about himself and others.

It is a heartwarming book and will make you smile, cry and laugh. It features some great characters and I wanted to know more after reading the book. It would be brilliant as a TV series.

Format: Paperback 

Rating: 3/5 (Good)

CURRENT READ

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S.Lewis (Collins, 1950)

md18586396402

This is a childhood favourite. Ever since I first read it back in 1988 I have loved the story. I got this edition as a Christmas present back in 1988 and I remember saying it was my favourite present. I am still reading and every Christmas I re-read the story.

Format: Hardback

RECENT ACQUISITIONS

More Than This by Patrick Ness (Walker Books, 2013)

21969786

This is one of two Patrick Ness books that I have purchased. I have never read any Patrick Ness but having recently watched the TV series Class (which is written by Patrick Ness) I thought I would give his books a try. Looking at the description of the book it seems a bit difficult to describe. I will attempt to do so once I have read it.

Format: Kindle E-Book

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Candlewick, 2008)

20758104

This is the second Patrick Ness book that I have purchased and is the first in his successful ‘Chaos Walking’ series. It is set in a town where everybody can hear everyone’s thoughts. It sounds very interesting and a the idea of knowing everyone’s thoughts every scary. I look forward to trying it.

Format: Kindle E-Book

Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie (Harper, 1938)

21065320

I do love a good Agatha Christie story and this looks like a perfect Christmas read. I probably will have to leave it until next Christmas but I look forward to reading this festive Poirot mystery.

Format: Kindle E-book

The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig (Canongate, 2016)

30250405

Following on from the huge success of ‘A Boy Called Christmas’ in 2015 comes this latest story. It does follow on from the previous book but can also be read as a standalone book (although both are worth reading). It is about a girl called Amelia who wants a wish to come true at a time when hope and magic are fading.

Format: Hardback

How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss (Harper Collins, 2016)

33281843

Confession time I have never read any Dr Seuss. Shocking I know. I know the story of the Grinch as I have seen the film. I felt the time was right to read the book so I have purchased a copy. It looks a very quick read but perfect for Christmas time.

Format: Hardback

That is it for this months book blog post and for this year. I hope you have found this little series interesting. I will see how it goes in the New Year. Happy New Year and Happy Reading.

