Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about Valentines Day, George Gently and Hidden Figures. So as usual let’s get started.

It feels like the last week has been a long one. This is probably because I have had a lot on and there is certainly a lot going on in my head at the moment. It will settle down at some point it will have to but at the moment I am a bit all over the place I think its fair to say. Still this week some things have happened that have helped pick me up a bit.

This week it was Valentines Day. The day of the year I usually hate. Id decided though this year I would try to not be as bitter as usual. I think I did well actually. Still no Valentines Day card or even message (I secretly did hope for one) but I suppose as I haven’t had one before   I wasn’t really disappointed.  What did surprise me though were others who were in relationships. I didn’t see any massive bouts being delivered at work or too much on social media. I hope others did have a nice day and if you did get something and by that I mean a card or flowers then I hope it made your day.

In last weeks blog post I mentioned that when I was in Edinburgh they were filming Outlander. Well it seems like it is the time of year for filming as outside of my work this week they were filming George Gently. They regularly film at Durham and have in the past filmed at my place of work but I have never seen them actually filming. This time though they were and I saw the cast and everything involved. Really interesting to see. They will have to do some good editing though as the lights are too modern for the period.

img_8739
Filming of George Gently in Durham.

This week I also went to the cinema to see Hidden Figures. This up for Best Picture at the Oscars and is about three African-American women who worked for NASA on the Space Programme. It is a fantastic film and is inspiring and empowering. It also has Kevin Costner in which is a bonus as he is like a reassuring pair of slippers but often overlooked now. Taraji P Henson and Octavia Spencer are fantastic in this film. Octavia is up for Best Supporting Actress but I think she will just miss out but you never know.I have only seen three films so far nominated for Best Picture and so far this is my favourite. I highly recommend and give it 5/5.

So that is my week. Nothing spectacular but there you have it. I’m off now to rest a bit and try to refocus on some things.

Until next time. Bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Taboo

Top Song of the Week – Rag’n’Bone Man – Human

Books I Am Currently Reading – The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith 

