Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. Happy Mother’s Day to all the mums or as we say in the North East Mam’s. This week I will be talking about Comic Relief, events in London, Beauty and the Beast and cinema etiquette. So let’s get started.

March is proving to be a tough month and giving me lots to deal with. I do like a challenge but I also like an easy life but not sure that’s going to happen anytime soon. I just need to focus on things more and prioritize things and change some things but maybe that will be a good thing.

I started the week off in a bad mood on Monday. Partly because I had lots going on and let some things get to me but also because I had pulled my back so I was in pain. This meant I had a very bad Monday. I seem to be having a bad year for hurting myself. Earlier in the year I pulled my shoulder doing exercises and this time I was sat awkwardly and pulled my back. It appears it is all down hill from 36 onwards. I am feeling better now though as I have got over the things that were bothering me and my back is a lot better.

This week saw some very tragic events in London. We live in a scary world now but events like this still shock and sadden us all. I love London and have walked over Westminster Bridge many times before and it really hits home how events like this can happen anywhere. My heart and thoughts go out to the friends and family of all those affected by the event. As always though in the darkness there is still good around and I have huge respect to all those who helped those who needed it. It is these acts of kindness that should be remembered and not the evil of those spreading hate. We all need to look after one another. So make time for those who matter to you.

1397540_10100651531962133_1558507362_o

This week I went to the cinema to see Beauty & the Beast. After having a bad start to the week and the terrible news in London sometimes you just need some time to yourself watching a musical fairy tale. I am not sure why Disney feel the need to make all the animated classics as live action and up until this week I had only seen Cinderella which was OK but nothing special. Beauty and the Beast looked very good though and I really enjoyed it. It is beautiful to watch, it was entertaining, it was funny, emotional and a joy to watch. Josh Gad as LeFou is brilliant as is Kevin Kline as Maurice. All the cast are good but the weakest link is Emma Watson as Belle. She looks the part but at times she is more Hermione than Belle. As a film I prefer this version over the animated version (It is normal to be attracted to the Beast isn’t it??). I also wish Angela Lansbury was still singing as Mrs Potts. I love Emma Thompson but for me that role belongs to Angela Lansbury. I would give the film 4/5.

On the subject of the cinema I had a bit of run in with someone at the cinema. My local cinema allocates seats when you buy a ticket. I have no problem with this but I know some people do. When I went this week I went to my seat and someone was already sat in it. Now the numbering isn’t clear on the seats so thought no worries I’ll explain and they will move along. In a typical British not wanting to cause a fuss way I said “I think you maybe sat in my seat”. Even though I knew full well they were in my seat. One of them was fine and said I’ll move but the person she was with got really angry and told me I should sit somewhere else as there were other seats. I said yeah there are other seats but I had picked this one and I don’t know which others are taken. She then shouted at me and said I was being awkward. To try to resolve it I said fine I will sit in the seat you are meant to have. She then said I don’t know which seat we have. I explained it is on your ticket so show me your ticket and then we will know. Now it is worth mentioning that there was no staff checking tickets at this time and my ticket wasn’t checked and I had walked in and out a couple of times to the toilet and then to get popcorn before going into the screen. I asked again to see her ticket so I could swap seats. She then shouted at me gain and said she didn’t know why I just sat somewhere else. At this point I was angry and fed up but kept it coll and said fine I’ll just go and get a member of staff. This then led her to shout at me again and said fine we are going to move and they moved well away from me without getting a ticket out. I am fairly certain they didn’t have a ticket which was why she was dignity know where they were meant to be sat. I watched the film and as I was leaving a woman who was with her family saw me as I was leaving and she said she hoped I was OK and that I had handled the situation very well. I said I was OK and I hoped it hadn’t spoilt it for her. She said it hadn’t and I had nothing to be sorry for her as I had been reasonable. She also said she dint think they tickets either. We then briefly talked about the film and went our separate ways. After having a tough week having someone say this to me on this day meant a lot. So as fairy tales all have morals the moral of this story is that if you are allocated a seat you should sit in it and always buy a cinema ticket and not sneak in.

Before I go I wanted to mention Comic Relief. Every two years it comes around. I grew up with it and always donate each year. As part of the show on television they included a 10 minute sequel to Love Actually. It follows some of the characters from the hit film to find out what they are up to. In just 10 minutes I laughed and felt reassured about things and weirdly now want Hugh Grant to be Prime Minister. The only criticism is that it was too short. Richard Curtis really needs to make a full length sequel soon.

To end this weeks blog post I am going to leave you with part of his speech from Love Actually (2003) as I find it just as appreciate now as I did then.

“General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends.” – Hugh Grant, Love Actually (2003)

Top Programme of the Week – Broadchurch

Top Song of the Week –James Blunt – Bartender

Books I Am Currently Reading – The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

