Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about Heads Together and mental health, General Election and about going to the Ed Sheeran Concert. So let’s get started.

What a week. I certainly has felt like it has been longer than seven days with so much going on. It has been a mixed week for me as well. I have had some good days, Some Okay days and some very low days. Saturday was a tough day and I struggled. I know things in life are not meant to be easy but usually something is good in one aspect of my life and that helps get me through the tough times. On Saturday it just felt as if all areas were broken. Today is a new day and Monday is the start of a new week so hopefully I can pick myself back up.

This leads me nicely onto Heads Together which is a mental health campaign supported by Prince Harry and the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge. At the start of the week both William and Harry talked about how they dealt with their mental health. This made the news for two reasons. They are members of the Royal Family and secondly it was two men talking about it. It therefore became a big deal. It easy to say how brave they have been talking about it and yes it is a big thing but as a society it shouldn’t be a big deal. We should encourage everyone to be open about how they feel. Some of the media coverage was harsh and criticised them for not showing the Stiff upper Lip. It is 2017 for goodness sake it is Okay for anyone to say publicly I’m not okay and finding it hard. By saying how you feel you release the pressure. The so call stiff upper lip means you bottle it up and eats away at you and can kill you. So I don’t care about the stiff upper lip but I do care that people are allowed to be open in whatever way they feel about how they are feeling. So talk about how you feel whether that is a Facebook status, twitter update, blog, chat over coffee, phone call. It doesn’t matter just don’t feel ashamed about doing it or let others make you feel ashamed for saying how you feel.

The big surprise this week was the announcement of a snap General Election. There had been calls for one by some politicians following Brexit and Theresa May becoming Prime Minister but Theresa May always denied she would do it. This week though she triggered a snap General Election for June 8th. So from now until then we will be bombarded by all the parties saying why they should win. From my own personal point of view I am undecided. A few months ago I quit my membership of the Labour Party as I felt and still do disillusioned with the Party at a local and a National level. This doesn’t mean that I am not voting Labour it just means Labour haven’t guaranteed my vote as they usually do and that I have to think and look at all the options and make a decision. I won’t say who anyone should vote for but I do hope people vote and personally I don’t think tactical voting is good either. Voting for someone who you possibly disagree with but not as much as the Conservative is not always the right thing. You should vote however that is for someone/Party who you think is best for the job and reflects your views at that moment. You have to be true with yourself that is all I say. The main thing though is that you vote. If you are not registered to vote yet then do so by visiting the website before 22nd May.

That is enough of politics and time to talk about music. On Thursday I went to see Ed Sheeran in concert at Newcastle Arena. It was part of his Divide World Tour. I had been looking forward to it for months and was surprised to even get a ticket. The support acts were Ryan McMullan and Anne-Marie. I liked Ryan McMullan a lot. Anne-Marie was a bit too chart dance for me but she was okay. Ed Sheeran performed pretty much non stop and didn’t do much talking in between songs which I liked actually as I was there for the music not banter.

Setlist (Newcastle 20th April)

Castle on the Hill
Eraser
The A Team
Don’t / New Man
Dive
Bloodstream
Happier
Galway Girl
How Would You Feel (Paean)
Photograph
I’m a Mess
Perfect
Nancy Mulligan
Thinking Out Loud
Sing
Shape of You
You Need Me, I Don’t Need You

Stand out songs for me were ‘Castle on the Hill’, ‘Bloodstream’, ‘I’m a Mess’, ‘Thinking Out Loud’, ‘Sing’, ‘Shape of You’ and ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’. His performances of ‘Bloodstream’ and ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’ were simply incredible and he threw everything he had into these performances. Part of me wanted him to perform ‘Supermarket Flowers’ but I would have been an emotional wreck so probably just as well he didn’t sing it.

IMG_9055

After the gig it really struck me how lucky I was to have been at the gig. He is one of the biggest music acts in the World at the moment and I was lucky enough to see him. If you have tickets to see him you are in for a great show.

Going to the concert was a nice break for me. I stayed over so I could make a night of it so I had nice meal and few drinks and it was what I needed. It allowed me to take stock of things going on and got me thinking about things. I even managed to take a selfie which I think I look okay in and that is no mean feat. I have no plans for holidays or breaks away so I wanted to appreciate it as much as I could as I am not sure when I will get to do it again anytime soon.

Well that is it for this week. Thanks again for taking the time to read.

Top Programme of the Week – The Last Kingdom

Top Song of the Week – Ed Sheeran – I’m a Mess

Books I Am Currently Reading – Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

