Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about …  May motivation, Avengers and the The Red Shoes. So let’s get started.

It is a new month and I should be feeling all positive and upbeat. My calendar at work has a very motivational quote for this month and I am trying to remember to follow the advice.

FullSizeRender 16

It is good advice to follow and it has forced me to think about my life and what I had planned for this year. OK some things have come along to derail me but I need to get back on track. I have to get the balance right but I should and more importantly I need to do it.

In Durham they have been filming the Avengers movie. I haven’t seen anyone famous but lots of very heavily blacked out cars going about so guessing some have literally passed me by. Still it is very exciting to see a Hollywood being filmed in the city that I work in. I can’t wait to see the movie and sport the scenes that were filmed there.

IMG_9174

I also had a bit of a high brow event by going to the theatre to see Matthew Bourne’s ‘The Red Shoes’. Regular readers will know that over the years I have been to many Matthew Bourne shows and have always loved them and this was just as good as the rest. What I like is that it is dance/ballet but in a modern accessible way. What is also good is that year after year you often see the same dancers come back and it is nice to see them develop each year. They are some of the best dancers around. Liam Mower and Ashley Shaw were brilliant in ‘The Red Shoes’. Liam is one Dancer who I have seen many times from Swan Lake, to Car Man and ‘The Red Shoes’. If you get the chance to see any Matthew Bourne show then I highly recommend you do. The Red Shoes was visually stunning and the set and lightning designers needs praise as do the costume designers.

IMG_9156 2

One thing I did find tough watching the show was the male bodies. I am not confident about my body anyway but seeing these male dancers of should I say athletes I felt very body conscious. I know that isn’t their intention but as a slightly big guy in his late thirties I did feel awkward. This was some motivation for this month for met get my health sorted.

Looking back at last week I realised how busy I was. I can’t even remember what I did for the Bank Holiday and it was probably nothing. We are five months into the year and I am not much further forward than I was in January.

Right I better go. This blog post is late enough and I’m flagging so speak soon.

Top Programme of the Week – The Last Kingdom

Top Song of the Week – The Chainsmokers – Paris

Books I Am Currently Reading – House of Names by Colm Toibin

