Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about LGBT issues, Manchester and Will & Grace.

So an interesting week this week. Still lots going on in my life and guessing this will be the case for a while as well. I have also had a bit of time this week to think about things and start to get some things sorted. I’ve realised some plans for this year are not possible but others are and I need to just get on with them and not give excuses. I also want to just enjoy myself more but still get on with serious things as well.

By some coincidence there is a bit of a theme to this weeks blog and that theme is LGBT. On Monday it was 6 years since I came out. It’s like my second birthday as it was when I started being myself for the first time. It is also a good time to stop and reflect on where I am with my life. I’m certainly comfortable with my sexuality and it is just part of who I am. I just need to settle down with someone or at least even have a date would be nice.

FullSizeRender

Sticking with the LGBT theme it was IDAHOT Day on Wednesday. This is International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia. It was great to see my employer have the rainbow flag the trans flag flying. It is a simple gesture but to the LGBT community it means a lot and sends a strong message of support. I know you would that in 2017 we shouldn’t need a day like this but sadly we still do. People are still afraid or think it is a sin and it isn’t. Everyone whoever you are deserves to live their lives and me themselves in safety.

On Tuesday I was in Manchester for work. It was a good day and came away with some good things to sort out and met some great people. After I was finished a short bit of time before my train and it seemed fitting to walk along Canal Street it was also the route to the station that I knew. For anyone who is gay Canal Street is somewhere you feel you should visit. As this was the day after my ‘coming out’ anniversary and the day before IDAHOT Day it felt even more appropriate to do.

IMG_9237

The final LGBT themed thing to mention this week is the trailer for the new series of Will & Grace. I am very excited about this. Never mind this Twin Peaks stuff (never watched it so don’t understand the fuss) Will & Grace is more my thing. I remember watching this after finishing uni and it was probably when I first start questioning my sexuality. I also love theme tune.

Well that is about it for this week. But before I go I wanted to end on this. On Saturday I was walking back from town and got caught in a rain shower I decided to shelter in a bus shelter and wait for it to ease off as I had lots of shopping. As I was waiting two women came and were waiting for the bus. One spoke and asked how I was. I replied albeit awkwardly she then asked was I heading into town as well. I replied no I was just sheltering for the rain. The bus arrived and she then wished me a good day. It was a simple act of kindness and someone being polite and it threw me and it really shouldn’t have. It was someone being polite and it is sad that it seemed out of the ordinary.

Well that is it for me today. I will be back again next weekend.

Top Programme of the Week – The Durrells 

Top Song of the Week – Steps – Scared of the Dark

Books I Am Currently Reading – I Can’t Believe You Just Said That: The Truth About Why People Are So Rude by Danny Wallace

