Hi and welcome to this weeks blog post. It is a few days late so sorry about that but it is here now. The main topic for this week is the Election so I will talk about that. So let’s get started.

First things first I have had a very tiring week. I am ready for some time off but unlikely to happen anytime soon. So I will just have to keep at it. It does mean sometimes like this last week I get to a point where I just have no energy and struggle. I am trying to find a balance between getting things done and looking after myself. So far I am not getting it right.

Anyway it was the Election last week. I did a special blog post about why I was finding it difficult to decide. After a lot of thought and soul-searching I voted Lib Dem. It was the decision that I felt most comfortable with and that is the most important thing. I wanted to vote and no whatever the result I would be happy with my decision and I was. It didn’t make a difference to the result in Darlington but it was the best representation of how I felt on the day. Interestingly the last time I voted Lib Dem was in 2010 when there was also a Hung Parliament. I am pleased Jenny won in Darlington though.

IMG_9286

I am glad the Election is over because let’s be honest it got nasty on all sides. We all think our view is right and we seem to shout it louder and louder on every platform possible. All it does is create an unpleasant environment. We all do it to an extent which isn’t excusing it but we should just stop and think sometimes. I nearly took time off social media last week because of the abuse I was seeing. I reported a few people because of the things they said and we need to stand up to that behaviour. It was an Election and the two most important things were that people voted and secondly we all respect each others views even if we differ. Only 68.7% of those eligible to vote did so which is terrible really. 31.3% of eligible voters didn’t vote and at the same time there was a lot of abuse online from all sides. Elections are meant to be about democracy but with this information I wonder how democratic we are.

It is also a strange result. The Conservatives won the most seats although not a majority so it feels like a loss. Labour was in second place so lost but because we expected little from them it feels like a win, the Lib Dem’s got more seats but it still feels like a loss, the SNP lost , the Greens stayed the same and UKIP were wiped out. So we feel we are sort of where we were before but in a weaker place. It really went well didn’t it?

I was sad to see Nick Clegg lose his seat. I know he had made mistakes in the Coalition but I think he was a good politician and Parliament needed him still. I wasn’t sad to see James Wharton (Stockton South) lose his seat (I know this is mean of me). I have a feeling he will come back in some form.

What happens next in politics is anyones guess and will probably be wrong. I think we need to get on with it now and hopefully things will settle down. We can but hope.

That is it for this week. I will be back onetime at the weekend with my usual weekly blog post.

Top Programme of the Week – Dr Who

Top Song of the Week – Mike + the Mechanics – The Best Is Yet To Come

Books I Am Currently Reading – Paris For One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes 

