Hi and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about rodents, wellbeing and hate so let’s get started.

First of all Happy Fathers Day to all the Dad’s out there. I hope you have all treated them this weekend. We take them for granted sometimes and they cause us a lot of headaches but they still mean a lot to us so they deserve some fuss.

It has been a bit of a mixed week for me. I am going to be honest I have struggled this week. a million things going through my head and that nagging feeling I should be doing more. When feeling like this I forget to look after myself and that helps nobody. It is unlikely I am going to get a holiday this year so I need to make the most of time when I can relax. So today with the weather being so nice I went for walk in the park, had an ice cream and then came home and sat and read in the garden with a Pimms. It was lovely and at some brief moments I forgot I was a home and instead I was away on holiday. So I need to make the most of every little bit of free time and look after myself and my wellbeing.

IMG_9327

If I was to choose a theme for this weeks blog it would be rodents. On Monday I saw squirrel use a Zebra Crossing. It made it across ok. I was going to say it was like real like Tufty Club except it was a Grey Squirrel and it didn’t stop and look both ways it just dashed across. For those of you too young to know what the Tufty Club was then I recommend you Google it.

Bring_Back_Tufty^_-_geograph.org.uk_-_764861

The other rodent story this week was that it appeared we have had a mouse in our kitchen. On Thursday night we opened a cupboard door and there were Coco Pops all over the cupboard. Now before you pass judgement I am known at times to enjoy Kelloggs Variety Pack if they are on offer and Coco Pop are my favourites. Yes I am 36 but there is nothing wrong in liking Coco Pop or having a Variety Pack. It’s that ‘you are on holiday in a low-budget hotel’ feeling and that can be good sometimes. Anyway something has eaten its way through the plastic and into the Coco Pops. We are guessing a mouse. It appears that it also had a go at fajita kit and some Ginger Tea bags. At finding this discovery I turned to my cat (who sleeps in the kitchen may I add) and say “You had one job”. She shrugs and walks away. We have now  disposed of everything in that cupboard and leaving it empty hopefully it was just passing and won’t be back.

Finally I want to talk about hate. Things are not good in the UK at the moment and people are angry, upset, scared etc and I get that I really do but why is there so much hate around. It was so bad this week on Social Media I nearly took some time off from it. My own wellbeing is struggling as it is and to see hate for no real reason is not helpful. A year ago Jo Cox was murdered and this weekend was about communities coming together in memory of her. We have more in common than divides us. A year on and hate seems to have grown. Let’s stop blaming people, giving abuse, pointing the finger and instead use that energy for good such as having such with a friend or looking out for someone who is having a bad time, spending time as a family, talk to someone you wouldn’t normally speak to, forgive someone etc. If we really want things to get better stop expecting others to do it we need to start with ourselves.

 

That is it for this weeks blog post. I hope you all have a good week. Be good to each other.

Top Programme of the Week – Poldark

Top Song of the Week – Savage Garden – Two Beds and a Coffee Machine

Books I Am Currently Reading – Good As You: From Prejudice to Pride – 30 Years of Gay Britain by Paul Flynn.

