Hi and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be talking about 20 years of Harry Potter and the film Baby Driver. So let’s get started.

Wow it is July. Half the year has gone already. I will be doing my mid year review sometime soon and hopefully a mid year book blog post as well. That is a lot of blogging so I had better get on with this one first.

IMG_9429

This last week saw 20 years since the first Harry Potter book was published. I was surprised about this but when I stopped to think about it I realised I realised it was right. I only started reading the books in 1999 when I was recommended to read the recently published ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’. I was working in my local public library before starting university and a fellow librarian said I should try it. I was sceptical and my reaction naively was “No it’s for children”. However something in my head was saying try it so I bought a copy and loved it. I took it to uni with me and it helped me in the those first few weeks at uni where I struggled to fit in. I then went back over and read the other first two. From then on it has been part of my life whether it involved me dressing up as Harry Potter when I worked at ASDA to sell “Order of the Phoenix”, seeing the stars turn up for UK premiere of ‘Half Blood Prince’  or being involved in the Harry Potter Induction campaign at work. It has always been there and that is the joy of books. It doesn’t matter if they are childrens or adult books they are there for you when you need them.

Just for fun according to Pottermore website

1)My Hogwarts house is Ravenclaw

2)My Ilvermorny house is Thunderbird

3)My Wand is Maple with Phoenix feather

4)My Patronus is a Weasel 

On Friday night I went to the cinema to see Baby Driver. I’m not a fan usually of car chase films but I had heard a lot about the film and the idea that scenes were done in time with the soundtrack appealed to the musicals fan side of me. Maybe because I didn’t expect much I ended up really enjoying the film. I thought Ansel Elgort was good in the lead role and there were some other good performances such as John Hamm. I think it did lose its way towards the end and I don’t really recall the music being in sync with the later scenes as it was in the first half which was a shame as I felt this was the song element to the film. I wasn’t bored though and didn’t look at my watch which is always a good sign for a film and I did think a lot about it afterwards. I would give it 4/5.

Well that is it for this weeks blog. I’m sorry it is late again. Until next time bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Dr Who

Top Song of the Week – Imagine Dragons – Believer 

Books I Am Currently Reading –  The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy 

