Books, Everyday Ramblings

Independent reader


Hi and welcome to this weeks blog post. Sorry it is a bit late again but once again had lots going on at home to get on with. I did manage to get my mid year review done though. Anyway this week I will be talking about Independence Day and missing reading books. So let’s get started.

So yeah I have had a lot on over the last week. It is probably best described as one step forward and two back with maybe the odd stumble thrown in. So trying to get things done that I want to do just becomes a bit more of a struggle. Anyway I am doing this post now and I am working on a book blog post as well so stay tuned for that.

Last week was Independence Day in America. For obvious reasons it isn’t celebrated much here in the UK but sometimes you come across things. On the day I went for lunch and it was USA themed meal that day. I went for Savoury Pumpkin Pie and was going to have 2 sides as you could choose from a selection. I was then told I could only have 1 or 4 sides – not two. I looked confused and the server repeated it and said that was just how it was. Now I don’t know the logic behind this but that was what I could have so I opted for just the one side (there they lost a sale hope they are pleased). I have to be honest it probably saved me from picking sweetcorn from in-between my teeth anyway.

I mentioned at the start of this blog that I was working on a book blog post. I did some book blog posts last year and I liked doing them (hopefully you liked reading them) but it was a big commitment every month so I decided to continue them every now and again and I thought the middle of the year with holidays approaching would be an ideal time.

My Kindle
I ventured into the world of e-books in 2013
While planning the post it made me realise how little I have read this year and how few physical books I have read and I miss it. With so much going on reading has become a luxury and I haven’t always been able to indulge. I have read some good books and I have some great books lined up ready to read I just need to find the time to do it. I am trying to read more again on the train to and from work but the journey is so short by the time I decide it is time to put it away again. I seem to reading more electronic books this year which is fine and I am not snobby about it but I do miss the experience of holding the book and the smell of the pages it is certainly a different experience.

Hopefully I can find time to read more and get back into books.

That is it for this week. Until next time bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Poldark

Top Song of the Week – Ed Sheeran – Galway Girl

Books I Am Currently Reading –  The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

